Best Christmas Markets

Bakewell, Derbyshire

Chatsworth Christmas Market 2026

Runs Saturday 7 November to Sunday 13 December 2026

DatesSaturday 7 November to Sunday 13 December 2026 (37 open days)
Days ClosedNone listed: open every day of its run
Opening Times
  • Monday to Thursday: 10am to 5.30pm
  • Friday to Sunday: 10am to 6pm
WhereLodge Hill, between the Stables and the house entrance at Chatsworth House DE45 1PP Open in Maps
EntryFree to enter. Market entry is free but parking must be booked in advance: full day from £25 per car, after 3pm from £15 per car (2026)
OrganiserChatsworth House Trust. Official page

Chatsworth Christmas Market: Quick Answers

When does Chatsworth Christmas Market start in 2026?

It opens on Saturday 7 November 2026.

When does Chatsworth Christmas Market end?

The last day is Sunday 13 December 2026.

What time does Chatsworth Christmas Market open and close?

Monday to Thursday 10am to 5.30pm; Friday to Sunday 10am to 6pm.

Is Chatsworth Christmas Market open every day?

Yes. The organiser lists no closed days between 7 Nov and 13 Dec.

Is Chatsworth Christmas Market free to enter?

Yes. Market entry is free but parking must be booked in advance: full day from £25 per car, after 3pm from £15 per car (2026).

Where is Chatsworth Christmas Market?

Lodge Hill, between the Stables and the house entrance at Chatsworth House, Bakewell DE45 1PP.

About Chatsworth Christmas Market

Outdoor market of more than 100 stalls on Lodge Hill beside Chatsworth House, with food and drink stands and outdoor bars. It runs alongside the ticketed Christmas at Chatsworth house and garden season.

Add the Dates to Your Calendar

Where Is Chatsworth Christmas Market?

Lodge Hill, between the Stables and the house entrance at Chatsworth House, Bakewell DE45 1PP. The other dots are nearby markets.

Loading the map…

Open today Running, closed today Opens within two weeks Later this season Dates not announced
Map: © OpenStreetMap contributors, OpenFreeMap.

Meeting Santa at Chatsworth Christmas Market

CalledStorytime+ with Father Christmas
When28 Nov to 13 Dec 2026. Saturdays and Sundays only: 28 and 29 November, 5 and 6 December, 12 and 13 December
Three 45-minute sessions a day, at 10.45am, 12.15pm and 2pm
WhereThe Oak Barn on the upper level of the Chatsworth farmyard (meet at the farmyard entrance)
Price£40 a child; £49.50 an adult. Ticket also covers the decorated house, the garden light trail, the farmyard and playground, the Christmas market and parking for one vehicle per booking; each child gets a small gift and each adult a hot drink voucher
BookingBooking needed. Organiser's booking page

A story session with Father Christmas and his elves, with a photo and reindeer-food making; every child aged 1 to 16 needs a ticket and must come with an adult, arrive 10 minutes early as latecomers are not let in, and a relaxed session is listed for 5 December.

Visits to Santa at the bigger markets sell out weeks ahead, and times change. Check the organiser's page before you promise anyone.

Source: Chatsworth House Trust, checked 12 October 2026. All markets with a grotto.

Getting There and Parking

By Train

There is no station at Chatsworth, so the train only gets you part of the way. Chatsworth says Matlock is the nearest station, with the Stagecoach 160 bus running from Matlock to the house on Mondays to Fridays only. For most people Chesterfield is the more useful railhead: it is on East Midlands Railway's main line, about 30 minutes away by road, and the Stagecoach 170 runs from Chesterfield station to Bakewell via Chatsworth. From Sheffield, the 218 to Bakewell leaves the Interchange across the road from the station and stops at Chatsworth daily. The bus stop is at the house car park, a short walk from the market on Lodge Hill. Check timetables with the operators before you travel.

Source: Chatsworth House Trust, page 2, checked 11 October 2026.

Park and Ride

For 2026 Chatsworth runs its own park and ride from Calton Lees car park (DE4 2NX), at the southern end of the park off the B6012 between Edensor and Beeley. It operates on Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays only, from Saturday 7 November to Sunday 13 December. The price is per vehicle, not per person: £20 on Fridays and £25 on Saturdays and Sundays (October 2026), and it must be booked online beforehand. Buses run from 10am to 1pm and 2pm to 5pm and drop you beside the market. The last bus back leaves at 5pm, there is no other transport if you miss it, and the bus is not wheelchair accessible. Vehicles with ten or more seats are not accepted.

SitePostcodeNotes
Calton Lees car parkDE4 2NXFridays £20, Saturdays and Sundays £25 per vehicle (October 2026); pre-booked only; last bus back 5pm

Source: Chatsworth House Trust, checked 11 October 2026.

Parking

Walking into the market is free, but you cannot simply drive up. Every car parking at Chatsworth during the market must have a ticket bought on the Chatsworth website before the day; none are sold at the gate and Chatsworth asks people without a booking not to drive there. Full day parking is from £25 a car and parking after 3pm from £15 (October 2026), with the exact price for each date shown in the booking calendar. Chatsworth Friends park free but must still book. There is no re-entry once you leave. When the main car park fills, cars go onto trackway in the parkland with a tractor and trailer shuttle. Expect mud and bring sturdy shoes.

Car ParkPostcodeSpacesPrice
Chatsworth house car park and parkland overflow (full day)DE45 1PPNot statedFrom £25 per car, pre-booked (October 2026)
Chatsworth house car park (arrive after 3pm)DE45 1PPNot statedFrom £15 per car, pre-booked (October 2026)
Calton Lees park and ride (Friday to Sunday)DE4 2NXNot stated£20 Fridays, £25 Saturdays and Sundays, pre-booked (October 2026)

Source: Chatsworth House Trust, page 2, page 3, checked 11 October 2026.

Accessibility

The market is on a slope, Lodge Hill, and pedestrian trackway covers the unpaved parts. Ramps from Lodge Hill onto the trackway are available for wheelchairs, mobility scooters and pushchairs: ask anyone in a Chatsworth hi-vis top. Accessible toilets and a Changing Places toilet are by the house entrance at the bottom of the hill. Blue Badge holders pay for parking like everyone else and must book ahead; show the badge on arrival and marshals will direct you to the disabled area in the main car park or, once that is full, to a space near a shuttle stop. The tractor and trailer shuttle takes wheelchairs. The Calton Lees park and ride bus does not.

Source: Chatsworth House Trust, page 2, checked 11 October 2026.

What Else Is On

The market runs alongside Christmas at Chatsworth, the decorated house with a light and sound trail in the garden, from 7 November 2026 to 3 January 2027. Tickets for that are £40 for adults and £12 for children aged 3 to 16 (October 2026), must be booked ahead, and include one parking space and entry to the market on dates up to 13 December. Christmas in the Garden, the light trail without the house, covers the same dates at £24 and £12. Storytime with Father Christmas at the farmyard runs from 28 November to 13 December and again from 18 to 23 December. A market parking ticket on its own does not get you into the house, garden or farmyard.

Source: Chatsworth House Trust, page 2, page 3, checked 11 October 2026.

Where to Stay

Chatsworth is in open parkland, so very little is within walking distance. The estate villages of Edensor, Pilsley and Baslow are the nearest places to stay, and buses to Chatsworth stop in all three. Bakewell is the nearest town and is linked by the 218 and 170 buses. Staying further out, in Matlock or Chesterfield, means a bus or a pre-booked parking space.

Staying the night? See hotels and rooms near the stalls on a map, priced for Saturday 7 November.

The map is supplied by Stay22 and loads from their servers when you press the button. We may earn a commission if you book through it. How we're funded.

Making a weekend of it? A cottage within reach of the market gives you an early start before the day trippers arrive. Holiday cottages from Sykes

Questions People Ask

Do I need a ticket for Chatsworth Christmas Market?

Entry to the market is free, but if you drive you must buy a car park ticket on the Chatsworth website before you come. Tickets are scanned at the car park entrance and are not sold at the gate. Arriving on foot or by bus needs no ticket.

How much is parking at Chatsworth Christmas Market in 2026?

Full day parking is from £25 per car and parking after 3pm is from £15 per car. The Calton Lees park and ride costs £20 per vehicle on Fridays and £25 on Saturdays and Sundays. Prices read in October 2026.

Does a market parking ticket include the house and garden?

No. It covers parking only. To see the decorated house, the garden light trail and the farmyard you need a Christmas at Chatsworth ticket, which includes the market on visits between 7 November and 13 December.

Can I bring my dog?

Yes. Chatsworth says well-behaved dogs on leads are welcome at the market, though it warns the market can get very busy.

Can I get to Chatsworth Christmas Market by bus?

Yes. Chatsworth lists the 218 from Sheffield and Bakewell and the 170 from Chesterfield station and Bakewell, both stopping at the house, and the 160 from Matlock on Mondays to Fridays.

Other Christmas Markets Nearby

Haddon Hall Mercatum Christmas Artisan Market

Bakewell, Derbyshire

11 Nov to 20 Dec 2026

Open Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays only. Closed Mondays and Tuesdays

3 miles away

Bakewell Christmas Market

Bakewell, Derbyshire

14 to 15 Nov 2026

3 miles away

Thornbridge Estate Christmas Market

Ashford in the Water, Derbyshire

20 Nov to 6 Dec 2026

Open Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays only

4 miles away

Matlock Christmas Market

Matlock, Derbyshire

19 to 20 Dec 2026

7 miles away

Matlock Victorian Christmas Market

Matlock, Derbyshire

4 to 6 Dec 2026

7 miles away

See all Christmas markets near Sheffield. More in East Midlands, or see every market's 2026 dates.